Customers who purchased this item also purchased these items:

No. 57 (Winter 2014)

SKU TxM057

Winter 2014

Kacey Musgraves
What a year it was for our 2013 Artist of the Year, the small-town girl from Golden, Texas. She penned Miranda Lambert's No. 1 country hit, "Mama's Broken Heart," tun she scored three country hits of her own - including her top-10 smash, "Merry Go 'Round" - off her debut album, Same Trailer Different Park, which landed at No. 1 on the Billboard country chart and No. 2 on the pop chart. She was named CMA New Artist of the Year, received four Grammy nominations - including one for Best Album and two for Best Song - and, along the way, became the poster child for a new kind of country music marked by the kind of fierce and unblinking honesty not normally associated with Nashville. She sings of casual encounters, smoking joints, kissing girls - and he boredom and bleak prospects of small-town life. Her year ended with a triumphant appearance on Austin City Limits and a video to accompany her newest single, "Follow Your Arrow." We include an exclusive Q&A with Musgraves and include our picks for the year's other noteworthy artists and albums.

2013 Year in Review
We celebrate artists whose accomplishments helped shape the year in Texas music - and whose talents forecast a promising future. Featuring:
Our writers' top album picks
George Strait
Shakey Graves
Patty Griffin
and Robert Glasper

Miles and Miles
The House of FiFi Dubois

Story Behind the Song
"Pistol Packin' Mama"

Billy Harper

Wild Moccasins
Sam Riggs and the Night People

Q & A
Gary P. Nunn

Book Reviews
Official Truth, 101 Proof: The Inside Story of Pantera
Ministry: The Lost Gospels According to Al Jourgensen

Plus: Album reviews, festival calendar and much more

Also included inside magazines ordered at our website is a compilation CD featuring:
Tejas Brothers
Hello Caller
King Kohn
Bottom Dollar String Band
Matt Skinner Band
Vanessa Peters
The Blenders
Emily Herring
Bennett Brier
Dickie Malone & the Pirates featuring Scotty Thompson
Sara Hickman
Dag King
The Staylyns
Ruby Dee & the Snakehandlers
Kent Gooding
John Lockhart
Patricia Vonne
Your Price $7.00

Customer Reviews